Winter Solstice 2014

Last night my coven had our first Winter Solstice celebration.  We feasted (I made a chicken stew for the first time–it must’ve been good, it was GONE when I went to clean up, lol), then did a gift exchange.  Some people crafted their gifts, others purchased gifts, and everything was beautiful and obviously made/selected with great care and love.

My husband knocked the ball out of the park though.  After the exchange, he presented me with a gift, that’s truly a gift for the whole coven.  I had remarked when we went shopping that I have always wanted an extra large potbelly cast iron cauldron, but they’re so horribly expensive.  I also told him NOT to buy it, it’s horribly expensive, haha–so what does he do?

He buys me the extra large potbelly cast iron cauldron from one of my favorite metaphysical stores!

(I have two favorites: Spirit Apothecary in Bedford (Matt & Melissa are awesome people and really know their herbs!) and Enchanted Grove in Willoughby (beware the “vicious” guard cat–Pixie will let you pet her all you want, you will be sucked into the vortex of her adorable fluffiness)).

Love that man.

I wish I’d planned on burning stuff, I would’ve used it right away for our ritual, but all I planned on burning were a few candles.

My home is beautiful but on the smaller side, so we cleared the furniture from the dining room for our circle.  I cast the circle, we invoked our gods, and we did a little skit.  My husband consented to be the Sun King–ironically, though, he was dressed all in black.  I should’ve thought ahead and at least given him a gold crown or something to wear.  Oh well, there’s always next year!

We mimed his death and rebirth, then did a meditation about the Solstice.  Finally it was time for cakes and ale–another first for me, I actually managed to bake a roll cake!  I made a chocolate Yule log cake.  In hindsight I ought to have taken a picture before we ate it–it was chocolate sponge cake with chocolate cream cheese filling and a chocolate buttercream frosting (do you have diabetes yet?), and I used a fork to make the frosting look like tree bark.  I even put “knots” in the frosting, and I used white cookie icing to make the “tree rings” on each end of the cake.

Yeah.  It was as delicious as it sounds.  Hahaha.

Afterwards we hung out, talking about regular life stuff.

For the first time, I feel like we’ve “clicked.”  We have seamlessly shifted from the mundane to the magical and back again, truly incorporating Wicca into our interactions and feeling at ease to speak on both matters.  For this is what Wicca is, it is living life, in all its aspects.  The mundane is in the magic, and the magic is in the mundane.

It was a beautiful day, and I look forward to many beautiful days to come.

Blessed be.

About Ariawn

I am 32 years old and have been studying Wicca for over 15 years. In 2012 I was elevated to the third degree in Traditional English Wicca by Dragoman Sledz. Since his passing earlier this year, it has been my goal to develop and document our Wiccan philosophy as fully as it is within my power to do so, and in doing so continue our mission to bring Wicca out of the shadows and make it available to those who seek the path. I currently reside in Ohio with my husband and our three cats, and I work as a registered nurse in Cleveland. I have an additional bachelor's degree in English literature. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me.
This entry was posted in Wicca. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

