I Worship Satan and You Do, Too

Thorn the Witch

So there’s a thing that happens whenever vocal Pagans show up in prominent public spaces, either online or in the flesh. The narrative is cliché and we all know it, whatever role we play. It goes like this:

BIG PAGAN THING OMG WITCHES AND WICCANS AND PAGANISM!

Pagan #1: OMG me too paganism witches so great!

Pagan #2: So great wait ‘til Christians see LOL awesome

Christian #1: SATAN

Pagan #2: NO SATAN DUMMY

Pagans #3-15: OMG NATURE GODDESS WICCA NO SATAN SO IGNORANT

Christian #2-Infinity: SATAN SATAN SATAN

Online Pagans (all of them):  LOL DUMB CHRISTIANS [cue this meme]pagan-satan

The above might be a Facebook thread (like this one), a series of notes attached to a post on Tumblr or Instagram, a conversation at Pagan Pride Day, or the banter that takes place over coffee or booze at a Pagan moot (minus the interjections from Christians, usually). But the…

View original post 512 more words

About Ariawn

I am 32 years old and have been studying Wicca for over 15 years. In 2012 I was elevated to the third degree in Traditional English Wicca by Dragoman Sledz. Since his passing earlier this year, it has been my goal to develop and document our Wiccan philosophy as fully as it is within my power to do so, and in doing so continue our mission to bring Wicca out of the shadows and make it available to those who seek the path. I currently reside in Ohio with my husband and our three cats, and I work as a registered nurse in Cleveland. I have an additional bachelor's degree in English literature. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me.
This entry was posted in Wicca. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

