You Can’t Handle the Proof

OK, let’s be honest: anecdotals hardly constitute proof.  But who doesn’t love a good testimony?

Psychometry.

In short, psychometry is the art of reading an object.  Remember that scene in The Craft when the shop owner touches Sarah’s ring and says, “It was your mother’s.”  She doesn’t ask–she TELLS her.  It’s not uncommon for people who learn that someone is a Witch to ask the Witch to “read something” for them such as the cards, the Aether, the spoon with a weird bend in it they inherited from their grandmother, etc., as “proof” of their psychic ability.

Sigh.

But that doesn’t mean that these aren’t real practices with real world impacts.  Here is my anecdotal for you.

First of all, yes, I’m a High Priestess.  Yes, I realize the decision I made was pretty stupid.  Yes, I learned a lesson.  Yes, being a High Priestess does NOT mean you know everything or that you will never make a mistake.

I made a mistake.

In the coven I’m now studying with, the High Priest had a break up that, to my understanding, did not go well.  Eight months later, he finally had his belongings returned to him.  Not only did he re-acquire said belongings, but his ex also returned (all of? not sure) gifts that had been received.

Understandably, my High Priest did not want to keep these things around with the negativity and animosity associated with them.  One of the gifts was a beautiful set of pentacle earrings.  As he had just acquired these earrings, he had not cleansed them, and he gave them to me with the caveat–“burn them, salt them, bury them, whatever you have to do, but they’re yours if you want them.”

I like shiny things.  I took them.

Now, the chain on my every-day pentacle necklace broke.  It feels very strange not to wear one, so, silly me went, “Oh, I know, I’ll wear my new earrings!  What harm can they do if I just wear them for a day or two until I get a new chain?”

SO. MUCH. HARM.

Nothing physical.  But emotionally?  Damn.

Within 24 hours I spiraled deep into a horrendous depression.  I felt worthless, unmotivated, and even trapped by my life.  Now, I don’t know the circumstances under which this aforementioned relationship ended, but heck if I didn’t almost feel like I was breaking up with myself.

As soon as the depression set in I took the earrings out.  It took two days, but I’m just about out of the depression cycle.

Those earrings are going have the bejesus cleansed out of them, and then I think I’m going to try wearing them for just a couple of hours at a time.

Lesson learned.

About Ariawn

I am 32 years old and have been studying Wicca for over 15 years. In 2012 I was elevated to the third degree in Traditional English Wicca by Dragoman Sledz. Since his passing earlier this year, it has been my goal to develop and document our Wiccan philosophy as fully as it is within my power to do so, and in doing so continue our mission to bring Wicca out of the shadows and make it available to those who seek the path. I currently reside in Ohio with my husband and our three cats, and I work as a registered nurse in Cleveland. I have an additional bachelor's degree in English literature. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me.
This entry was posted in Wicca. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

